Sister Special Kay Playin’ Meet ‘n Greet

~~~~

We be startin’ out here this chant knowin’ I’s got to get a name
cause even in last night’s dream I be in front o’ a bunch o’ people
n’ they wants me to introduce myself ‘n what I do. N’ I know it be the same
question I be gettting everytime I smile at someone new ‘n I give the feeble
fumble ‘n tumble ’bout how I be workin’ with one ‘n sums to learn
their special way o’ catchin’ ‘n listenin’ to theys own dream talk, what be yearn-
in’ to be understood since time began. ‘N those new people, they alls be givin’ me
a bright-eyed head nod ‘n be all question-y, like, ‘I want to like you, but you see,
I have no idea what your talking about.’  N’ that be about when the plateauin’
begin. It be confusin’, givin’ a Type A response when they listenin for somethin’ type Z.
I be Sister Special Kay playin’ meet ‘n greet with all who’s questin’ Knots-N-Knowin’

Now I know that last line gonna take some explainin’ as to how I came
to be Ms. Special Kay. She be rooted in fun-makin’ soil as well as honorin’ a cosmos-full
o’ meanin’ wantin’ awareness in those silent ‘K’s’ frontin’ the Knot ‘n Knowin’s game.
Lets start with the fun-making part – you heard o’ a church-chock-full
o’ E.G. White lovers? That Ms. White she bring a kick tale health message, sayin’ to spurn
all kind o’ things many go ahead ‘n digest. Them there Whiters’ hold a diet o’ stern
boundaries so they minds stay clear – which I say be a perfectly
acceptable reason not to eat whatever meat didn’t come prancin’ preemie
to the table on cloven hooves or scales ‘n fins. And theys CAN eat birds who be sowin’
clean seed, but not ones be cleaning up road kill like eagles or them there vultures be.
I be Sister Special Kay playin’ meet ‘n greet with all who’s questin’ Knots-N-Knowin’

So’s while I long gone from the Whiter shade of believin’, I’s still mostly claim the clean mind diet o’ no caffeine ‘n mini-meat I learnt sittin’ at the church-point steeple
where I grew up. There be no end t’ stuff Whiter believin’ give me that done inflame
my indignation or or make me laugh til tears stream ’cause my heart so full.
Pertinent here is if you ever been in Whiter land, you know the status Special Kay loaf earn
in our home-food cravin’ cells. ‘That mass o’ nuts, eggs ‘n cereal be served at any turn –
where at a non-Whiter gatherin’s people woulda been eatin’ meat. By default decree
Special Kay Loaf be the non-meat Whiters ‘n ex-Whiters identify with amongst debris
we be sortin through while decidin’ which recipes to keep ‘n which to be throwin’
away. Truly we Special Kay Loaf lovers n’ haters got shared history to a certain degree.
I be Sister Special Kay playin’ meet ‘n greet with all who’s questin’ Knots-N-Knowin’

Now the ‘Special Kays’ sitting in the two-word ‘Knot-N-Knowin’ space I be claim
-in as my own – they be demonstratin’ how unseen Kays be a letter-meat critical
to understandin’ a bigger picture ‘n my role in it. Without the Kays, who could blame
one thinkin’ I be hosting play from, or in, a place of Not-N-No’ing? The finepoint needle
I be sewin’ with be the implement sterilizin’ how I gonna be burn-
in’ a brand on the range o’ ways my work be playin’ in the world.
The play I be hostin’ for inspired ‘n interested ones ‘n sums is, for a fee,
teachin’ one ‘n all how to pendulum swing from a Not-n-No-ing expressin’ spree
t’ the land of Knots-n-Knowing where you check your knots and reveal your knowin’
Now that there, swinging a fallen-to-pieces pendulum in a peaceful way, that be key.
I be Sister Special Kay playin’ meet ‘n greet with all who’s questin’ Knots-N-Knowin’

Now in church this be where the music would swell up n’ the Pastor be exclaim-
in’ from his heart how you gots to listen to yo’ heart and walk yo’ shame-full
self to the place it can be forgiven. Yeah, my needle just freakin’ SCRATCH that frame-
n spin ’cause that ain’t be the brand o’ Knot checkin’ we be pull-
in’ with Sister Special Kay’s Knots-n’-Knowin’ work-play. Our play be generatin’ return
that make sure any tears get shed be in the service o’ uncurlin’ your smile’s fern.
If you be the one who says ‘I know I be full of good things though my marquee
got letterin’ on it I can’t quit read, or it be the wrong damn letter-scree
altogether’ – well let’s get together and sort out those knots ‘n whatever slowin’
your spiral’s spin that be wantin’ to power your special brand of gutsy n’ happy.
I be Sister Special Kay playin’ meet ‘n greet with all who’s questin’ Knots-N-Knowin’

This here chant be all started explainin’ she who be havin’ some I’s to dot and T’s
to cross on namin’ herself ‘n her work-play, n’ she be about t’ go celebrate with decaf tea
how she gone eight hours from not-a-clue nothin’, to all kind o’ somethin flowin’
’cause Sister Kay’s knots been checked n’ her knowing revealed – perfectly.
I be Sister Special Kay playin’ meet ‘n greet with all who’s questin’ Knots-N-Knowin’

© Lori Fleming, 2014.

4 thoughts on “Sister Special Kay Playin’ Meet ‘n Greet

  1. kebert17

    Creative, playful, and beautiful? Yup. You are adorable, m’lady! Nice to finally find your website, which I clearly did not know existed. My bad.

    Reply
    1. Bridge2Vision

      Nah, it was your awesome self that got your space ‘n place up and running that kickstarted me into putting stuff up on a blog finally! Thanks for stopping by and letting me know you found it. 😉

      Reply
  2. brian miller

    well let’s get together and sort out those knots ‘n whatever slowin’
    your spiral’s spin that be wantin’ to power your special brand of gutsy n’ happy.

    ha. cool lines…and a fun romp overall through the whole thing…my boss’ nic-name is Special K as well…lol….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

