Ain’t No Brain Synapse Should Ever Overcome a Heart’s Knowin’

 

I been walkin’ through a week o’ blarin’ talk
aimed at teachin’ me ‘n you who the enemy is
‘n ensurin’ how many years of wrong-doin’ crock
won’t never be fixed.  Sayin’ we gots to do this
or that, or something else ‘n what really just mean
some politic-type want to conquer my mind clean
so’s I get on endorsin’ somethin’ be done in my name
so they can get on w’ conquerin’ some game
they originally say be all ’bout WMD-stowin’
n’ democracy, AKA ‘resource we just killin’ ‘n dyin’ t’ claim’
Ain’t no brain synapse should ever overcome a heart’s knowin’

So I’s thinkin’, Girl, you’s got to get off this clock
tickin’ that kind o’ background steam-hiss!
I be knowing my insides shreddin’ every tickety-toc-
in’ minute, windin’ up to some perfect swiss-
miss countdown to the in-evit-able blow-up scene
guaranteed to shrapnel-tear my heart-spleen.
It be a kind o’ self-sufferin’ I set off a-flame-
in’ when spinnin’ my ‘I-gotta-conquer-my-guv-ment aim
‘cause they doin’ somethin’ I think just be more strategic’ stu-poorin’.
Dang, I jus’ see how I be knittin’ their same color-me-conquerin’ yarn-skein!
Ain’t no brain synapse should ever overcome a heart’s knowin’

I’s start focusin’ my eye-sight t’ takin’ stock
of what be aroun’ me I could use t’ help dismiss
my pre-occu-pie with the metronone-clickin’knock-
in’ on my we’s gonna war again’ gut churn abyss-
diggin’ – when the bold seal on the vanilla-bean
yogurt lid sayin’ “Live n’ Active Cultures” done gleam
a picture of some bacteria-types in spandex ‘n overcame
my spinnin’ self. I get grinning, seein’ Live Cultures’ dancin’ like on Fame,
that 80’s show ’bout a bunch o’ kids livin’ forever ‘n schoolin’
them selves to dance so everyone remember their name.
Ain’t no brain synapse should ever overcome a heart’s knowin’

My notice-what-you-notice sees there be a Note-aphor I gawk-
in’ at.  It jus’ be beggin’ some kind o’ metaphor bliss
be ground out by my over-active logic-brain still squawk-
in’ its same ol’ conquer-them-jerks-beat that need dismiss-
in in favor of a heart-knowin’ goin’ beyond that tired old scene
my left brain keep repeatin’ like a stuck needle preen-
in a scratched record. Dang, that outgrown tune be maim-
in’ the well-bein’ of self ‘n everything it spin untame-
like. So, I interview the spandex-clad livin ‘n foolin’
bacteria – like they got a message-for-me in a note-aphor frame
Ain’t no brain synapse should ever overcome a heart’s knowin’

Those dancin’ fools tell me they representin’ the flock
o’ live action I got in me wantin’ to help digest some remiss
belief formin’ my ‘these-idiots-warrin’-be-a-cycle’ll-never-end’ block-
that  be makin’ me such a cranky-tank.  My new-shine awareness
get right on ending my own tired-ol’ cyclin’ thought scheme
n’ replacin’ it with a NEW thought to channel my emotin’stream.
Now I’s be readin’ off a new script.  It be dissolvin’ blam-
in’ shamin’ tendencies, and fillin’ space with somethin’sane,
like how what I want begin with me dancin-in-wiser ways n’ flowin’
with bigger-than-me insights I discoverin’ on every windowpane.
Ain’t no brain synapse should ever overcome a heart’s knowin’

Bottom-line, when I be tempted to shout-out warrin’ con-game
facts ‘n stats, I be remindin’ myself that episode of Fame
done airing now.  I done got me better thought makin’ me super-glowin’
like the song says, I gonna live forever, light up the sky like a flame.
Ain’t no brain synapse should ever overcome a heart’s known

© Lori Fleming, 2014

One thought on “Ain’t No Brain Synapse Should Ever Overcome a Heart’s Knowin’

Leave a Reply

