One Heart’s Murmuation

 

~~~

Pause.    Transform before transmitting, your subtle trigger’s message
swooping startled reflex from me to U -nified reaction.

A microsecond’s threat, once sensed, whets a mind with skittish fret
What have I lost, what is wrong, what change will be required of me?

What if an economic spasm out there means doom right here?
Fear, once lit, fans outward, sending great shudders through our linked selves.

Treat our moments of trigger with attentiveness and query.
Care for yourself first and foremost with great gentleness and ease.

Our feelings crave interview.  Say, “Beloved  I seem to feel …
A sudden fatigue?  Sense of doom?  Despair?  Fear for my safety?

Whatever I can release personally, I do so now.
Clear and transmute this feeling in me and in the world at large.

Allow me to see and deal with all personal change simply.
I pause to rest.     Breathe.     Protect and restore my vitality.

Thank you, beloved life, for instant relief always in me.”
Now watch a new impulse pattern wave our flock with grace and ease.

~~~

This ancient poetry form, developed in the Mediterranean island of Crete, is called mantinada, derived from Venetian for “morning song”.  I first encountered the poetic form at Elaine Stirling’s expansive poetry venue, Oceantics.  The couplets are decapentasyllabic, fifteen syllables per line, and are not required to rhyme. In its purest meter, there would be a midline caesura (pause), though I have chosen a more conversational approach.

© Lori Fleming, 2014

2 thoughts on “One Heart’s Murmuation

  1. elainestirling

    Yesterday, I had a day away, indulgences of all the senses, and so I missed this beautiful morning song until now, prompted by the even more mystical and challenging ketek that just landed on my e-doorstep. This is a stellar and a stately murmuration. I recall with a smile that right around the time you were writing this, I was chatting with my former director in Business & Professional Studies about his newest book of poetry, on the theme of flocking birds and schooling fish. He made the very hand gestures that your poem and the video describe. He said this is the way language works too. Here is the link to link these many synchronicities:
    http://www.amazon.ca/Birds-Flock-School-Edward-Carson/dp/1550653598

    Reply
    1. Bridge2vision

      Thank you for stopping by to read this one Elaine. How perfect it is to have first hand evidence of the murmurative-logos concept in action here, swooping from minds, pens, conversations and print – to immediately evolve the interaction of our linked selves!

      Thanks so much for the link to Edward Carson’s book. It thoroughly piques my interest, and I appreciate how these nested synchronicities of topic, writing and timing led you to link me to his work.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

